Harassment is generally the result of a personal argument, disagreement, or misunderstanding. Certain behaviors, such as attempting to contact another person because they owe you money or are in possession of your belongings, would not be considered harassment. It is common for one accused of harassment to have had a personal falling out with the victim. The prosecution must be able to prove that the accused had the intention of annoying the victim or causing them stress in order for one to be convicted of harassment.
Our harassment attorneys in New Jersey will listen to your side of the story and determine if there are grounds to have your case dismissed. We will examine the evidence against you, determine the validity of your accuser’s complaint, and discuss your options with you, while also diligently fighting the charges, and protecting your name and reputation. If you are accused of harassment, call a New Jersey harassment lawyer today.Penalties For Harassment
Harassment is considered a petty disorderly offense, which in the eyes of the court, is seen as the least serious offense possible. The punishment for harassment is a maximum of 30 days in jail and a $500 fine. Often the worst part of being charged with harassment is the embarrassment and future repercussions of having the charge on your permanent record.
Our office can help you expunge your record if you have been convicted of less than 3 disorderly or petty disorderly offenses and have not been convicted of any indictable offenses. The court requires that five years pass following your sentencing in order to have your record expunged. An expungement erases all record of the offense and will not show up on background checks. You will also not be required to disclose your harassment arrest once it has been expunged. If more than five years has passed since you were convicted of harassment, let our office help you move on with your life. Call a New Jersey harassment lawyer today to receive immediate attention.