We are open and helping our clients. Please contact us for a phone or video conference. Stay safe and healthy.

East Brunswick DWI Defense Lawyer Aggressively Defending Charges

Law enforcement officials in East Brunswick take DWI charges, also referred to as DUI charges, very seriously. If an officer suspects that you are driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs or driving while intoxicated, you can face serious punishments and penalties. Even though a DUI or DWI is considered a significant offense, it’s important to remember that you have rights and those rights should be protected.

If you’ve been charged with a DUI or DWI, you need to work with a highly skilled and experienced East Brunswick DWI lawyer. An East Brunswick DUI lawyer can walk you through the legal process and provide DUI defense strategies to fight your charges. To learn more about your options and discuss your case with a trustworthy East Brunswick DWI lawyer, call John B. Fabriele, III at (732) 246-0888 today for a free case evaluation.

East Brunswick Basic DUI Offense

New Jersey statute §39:4-50 describes the basic offense of "driving while intoxicated" as occurring in four different situations. This provision is violated when someone operates a motor vehicle while that person is "under the influence" of alcohol or drugs, or when that person has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or higher.

The provision is also violated if another individual who owns or controls the vehicle is not driving, but allows someone else to operate the vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or with a BAC of .08 percent or more. In other words, drivers who know they had too much to drink and hand over their keys to someone else to drive home may still be found guilty. It will still be considered a DWI offense if the police believe the other person should not be driving.

Regardless if you were operating the vehicle, or a passenger charged with a DUI, it’s vital that you contact an East Brunswick DUI attorney as soon as possible after a DUI arrest.

How East Brunswick DWI Penalties are Assessed

Clients will often ask how penalties are assessed when facing a DUI in East Brunswick. There are several factors that a judge will consider when assigning DWI penalties, and a driver’s history is often the most significant. If this is a second or third DWI violation, you run the risk of facing much more severe penalties than if it’s your first DWI charge.

The New Jersey statute mandates that the penalties increase substantially for subsequent violations, even if they occur in other jurisdictions. (See, e.g. N.J. Rev. Stat. §39:4-50(a)(3).)

For a first offense DUI in East Brunswick, a driver faces:

  • A fine between $250 and $400
  • Incarceration for up to 30 days
  • Detainment for 12 to 48 hours in classes as required by the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Loss of driving privileges until installation of an ignition interlock is complete
  • Interlock required for three months

But these penalties only apply if your BAC is under .10 percent. If you’re found to have a BAC between .10 percent and .15 percent during your first offense, you could be facing:

  • A fine between $300 and $500
  • Incarceration for up to 30 days
  • Forfeiture of driving privileges until installation of ignition interlock device
  • Mandatory use of an ignition interlock device for at least seven months, up to one year
  • Detainment for 12 to 48 hours in classes as required by the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

Finally, if your BAC is found to be .15 percent or higher, your license can be suspended for up to six months. Your vehicle must be outfitted with an ignition interlock device during the suspension, and it must remain installed for up to 15 months after your license is restored.

If you’re convicted for a DUI in East Brunswick, you can also face other substantial consequences, such as an increase in your insurance premiums, expensive fines, or participation in an alcohol or substance abuse treatment program.

For a second offense, the potential fine increases up to $1,000, the term of imprisonment can extend to 90 days, the driver is required to perform 30 hours of community service, and the driver loses driving privilege for a minimum of one year, up to two years.

Three or more DUI convictions can lead to even more severe penalties, such as a loss of license for up to eight years.

If this is your first DUI arrest, it can be a scary and confusing experience. It’s important to have a veteran East Brunswick DWI defense lawyer by your side to assure you that your rights are protected.

If you’re facing a second or third DUI offense, potential penalties will be harsh. Working with a seasoned East Brunswick DUI lawyer can help you understand the extent of your situation and help you pave the best path forward.

Contact East Brunswick DUI attorney John B. Fabriele, III today to discuss your charges and feel confident about moving forward with your case.

Other Considerations for East Brunswick DUI Penalties

Beyond a driver’s history, there are other factors that a judge will consider when assessing penalties for a DWI. Here are a few other variables that may affect your DUI penalties:

  • Having a minor under the age of 17 in the vehicle at the time of the offense
  • If the driver is under the influence of a “narcotic, hallucinogenic, or habit producing drug”
  • If the offense occurs on school property or in a school crossing
  • If the driver already has a suspended license
  • If injuries result while a driver is operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs

Only an experienced East Brunswick DUI defense attorney can design a proper defense strategy for these circumstances. If your DWI arrest included any of the above-mentioned situations, it’s imperative to work with an East Brunswick DWI lawyer. Contact our law firm today to learn more.

Frequently Asked Questions Regarding East Brunswick DUI Charges

Below you’ll find some frequently asked questions that clients will often have when facing DUI charges in East Brunswick.

What do I do if I’m arrested for a DUI in East Brunswick?

First, it’s incredibly important to contact an East Brunswick DUI lawyer if you’ve been arrested for driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated. Regardless if it’s your first DUI or your third, you need to have someone there who has your best interest in mind and has experience successfully fighting DUI cases. Remember that law enforcement officials take DUI/DWI offenses very seriously and penalties can be severe, but you do have rights. Contact East Brunswick DUI lawyer John B. Fabriele immediately following a DUI arrest.

Is it possible to have DUI charges dropped?

It is possible to have DUI charges dropped or penalties minimized. However, this is only possible if you’re working with a skilled East Brunswick DWI lawyer that has extensive experience achieving successful results. Only a seasoned DWI defense attorney can identify mistakes made by law enforcement or other evidence that can lead to a dismissal. It is never recommended to handle a DUI charge on your own. To learn more about your options or common DUI defense strategies, contact East Brunswick DUI lawyer John B. Fabriele, III today.

What questions should I ask my East Brunswick DUI lawyer?

It’s always helpful to have a strong understanding of your case and the potential legal challenges you’ll face after a DUI arrest. The more you can learn from your DWI lawyer, the easier it is to digest your circumstances. When meeting with your East Brunswick DUI defense lawyer, be sure to ask questions regarding your potential penalties, what happens at a typical DUI court appearance, the effects your charge will have on your driver’s license, and what kind of defense strategy will work best considering your specific circumstances.

How long does a DWI stay on your record in New Jersey?

In the state of New Jersey, a DUI record is reset after 10 years. It’s important to also keep in mind that a DUI conviction is considered a traffic offense, not a criminal offense. So, if an employer does a criminal background check, a DUI offense will not appear.

How do I find the right East Brunswick DWI defense attorney?

To find the right East Brunswick DWI defense attorney, there are a few important characteristics to look out for. First, you want to make sure your East Brunswick DUI attorney has extensive experience and has a long list of successful DUI case results. Second, you want to find a DWI lawyer that can offer a free case evaluation. This offers you the opportunity to sit down and ask questions, express concerns, and set expectations. Finally, you want to work with an East Brunswick DUI lawyer that is accessible and continuously keeps you up to date on the developments of your case. East Brunswick DUI lawyer John B. Fabriele, III checks all these boxes and can provide you with the legal support and guidance you need at this time. To schedule your free case evaluation and learn how to move forward with your case, contact East Brunswick DWI defense attorney John B. Fabriele, III today.

East Brunswick DWI Lawyer John B. Fabriele, III

The Law Office of East Brunswick DUI Lawyer John B. Fabriele, III is open daily to take your DWI case. It is essential that you contact a DWI attorney as soon as possible so we can start working on your case. To achieve the best results, you need an experienced attorney that’s familiar with law enforcement in East Brunswick. Contact East Brunswick DUI Defense Lawyer John B. Fabriele, III today to get your questions answered and start your defense.

East Brunswick NJ Criminal Defense Lawyer Office

East Brunswick Criminal Lawyer

Criminal Defense Attorney John B. Fabriele, III

197 NJ-18 #203n
East Brunswick , NJ

Phone: (732) 246-0888

Hours of Operation

Monday9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday9:00 AM - 5:00 PM