New Jersey DUI Lawyer
Drunk driving or driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious criminal offense with the potential for severe penalties in New Jersey. Drivers who are found to be impaired by drugs or alcohol may face a suspension or a revocation of their drivers’ license, substantial monetary fines, and possible jail time.
If you or someone you know is facing a DUI charge, it is understandable that you may experience fear and frustration, and above all, confusion as to what to do next.
It is important to understand your legal situation, and an experienced DUI lawyer can help you by explaining your rights, and giving you the best chance to defend yourself.
Legal Standards for DUI in New Jersey
In New Jersey, penalties for DUI depend on:
- Prior DUI offenses
- Whether the driver submitted to a chemical test
- Type of driver's license (a regular passenger license or a special license such as a commercial license)
New Jersey determines whether an individual is impaired based on their age and blood alcohol content (BAC), and the type of vehicle being driven.
Drivers found to be impaired will be charged with DUI in the following circumstances:
- Under 21 years old with a BAC of 0.02 percent
- 21 or over with a BAC of 0.08 percent
- Drivers operating a commercial motor vehicle with a BAC of 0.04 percent
Driving under the influence of drugs is also a crime in New Jersey. There is no standardized drug test in New Jersey, impairment due to drugs is determined on a case-by-case basis.
A conviction for driving under the influence of drugs is considered as a prior offense when it comes to calculating punishment, whether future offenses are due to alcohol or drugs.
Penalties for Driving While Impaired
Consulting a lawyer can help people fully understand the consequences of a DUI conviction. The severity of the penalty depends on the number of similar offenses an individual has been convicted of in the past.
A first-time offender may be fined between $250 - $400, receive a license suspension of a minimum of three months, and up to thirty days in jail, plus insurance surcharges.
If the first offense is driving with a BAC of 0.1 percent or higher, the amount of the fine will be $300-$500, and suspension of a driver’s license for seven to 12 months.
Each subsequent conviction for DUI increases the amount and duration of these penalties.
It is important to know that New Jersey has an implied consent law. A driver who refuses to take a BAC test may lose their license for seven to 12 months and pay a $300-$500 fine.
Consulting an Attorney
A conviction for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a serious matter, and New Jersey has some of the nation’s toughest DUI laws.
If you are a first-time offender, or if you are facing a second, third, or fourth charge, do not try to handle it on your own.
You need someone by your side who has represented people in your situation, who has experience dealing with the New Jersey court system, and who will help you protect your rights. Contact a qualified New Jersey DUI lawyer today.
Consult an Experienced New Jersey DWI Attorney
Being charged with a DWI offense in New Jersey can result in severe penalties. With so much potentially at stake, you should consult an aggressive and experienced DWI attorney who can mount a strong defense that is tailored to your circumstances. Call Criminal Defense Attorney John B. Fabriele, III at (732) 246-0888 to start discussing your defense.