Middlesex County Gun Lawyer
If you are facing gun charges in Middlesex County, it could be important not only to know the full extent of your rights, but also how to protect those rights. If you waive your rights, even unintentionally, then they may no longer afford you the protection to which you are entitled.
New Jersey state law has a number of statutes on the books defining offenses related to firearms, in addition to statutes that provide additional penalties where firearms are present during other alleged offenses. If you are facing any criminal firearms charges, it may be a good idea to meet with a Middlesex County gun lawyer who could help ensure that your rights are protected. Speak with a skilled criminal attorney who could work with you to reach the ideal outcome in your case.Common Gun-Related Crimes
Although firearms may come into play in the application of many criminal statutes in New Jersey, some are more common than others. Some of the most common major gun crimes in the state include:
- Possession of a weapon for an unlawful purpose
- Unlawful possession of a weapon
- Possession of a prohibited weapon
- Possession of firearms by a convicted felon
- Unlawful disposition of a firearm
The state of New Jersey treats firearms offenses very seriously, which means conduct that violates no laws in other jurisdictions may be considered a felony offense in Middlesex County.What is Unlawful Possession of Weapons?
New Jersey Statutes §2C:39-4 governs the possession of weapons used for illegal purposes, including guns, explosive devices, and even imitation firearms. The most serious offenses under this statute involve the possession of firearms, which are defined in N.J. Stat. §2C:39-1(f) as any gun or similar device which ejects a projectile or vapor by means of a cartridge or shell or by explosion, ignition, spring, rubber band, compressed air, or carbon dioxide, with sufficient force to injure someone. This definition includes devices such as BB guns, airsoft guns and pellet guns.
Anyone found in possession of a firearm with the intent to use it illegally against another person or property may be found guilty of a second-degree crime. Penalties for a crime in the second degree include a term of imprisonment between five and ten years in length and a fine of up to $150,000.Impact of Possession of Weapons Without a Permit
Mere possession of firearms without a proper permit or registration is a serious criminal offense regardless of whether the weapon is used or even intended to be used. New Jersey §2C:39-5 of the New Jersey code makes it a second-degree crime to possess a handgun or a machine gun without a valid permit or license. This provision applies to antique firearms as well.
If a handgun is propelled by a spring, rubber band, or compressed gas, the offense is reduced to a third-degree crime, which is still punishable by three to five years in prison and a fine as high as $15,000. Those in possession of a shotgun or rifle without a firearms purchaser identification card may also be found guilty of a third-degree crime.Working with a Middlesex County Gun Attorney
There is no doubt about it—New Jersey gun laws are strict. Moreover, these laws are detailed and complex. As such, anyone facing charges involving firearms in Middlesex County is advised to work with an attorney who understands how local courts typically handle gun offenses and knows which defensive strategies are most likely to succeed in different circumstances.
A Middlesex County gun lawyer could work to uncover every piece of evidence relevant to your case, present that evidence in a favorable light, and advocate on your behalf until you obtain a positive outcome. Call today to learn about the advantages of working with experienced gun lawyers to protect your best interests.