Monmouth County Reckless Driving Lawyer

Reckless driving charges in New Jersey carry severe penalties and can affect your insurance rates for several years afterward. If you were charged with reckless driving, you could learn about ways to reduce or eliminate potential penalties to your driving record and wallet from a seasoned criminal defense attorney. That is just one reason why it could be important for you to hire a Monmouth County reckless driving lawyer who could help mitigate those types of penalties.

Reckless Driving Laws in Monmouth County

New Jersey state law punishes the operating of a motor vehicle with intentional or wanton disregard for the safety of others. Specifically, New Jersey Statutes §39:4-96 defines reckless driving as a more serious charge than the typical traffic offense such as speeding since the harm and injury this action causes can be worse than a simple speeding offense.

Penalties for Reckless Driving

A conviction for reckless driving can be punished with up to 60 days in jail and a fine. A second conviction of reckless driving can be punished by up to 90 days in jail and an additional fine.

Driving Points and Insurance

Reckless driving convictions add five points to a convicted individual’s driving record. If a driver accumulates 12 points or more, their license would be suspended.

Insurance rates may also increase after a reckless driving conviction. The degree of this increase usually depends on the driver’s previous record. If a driver has too many driving violations, some insurance companies may even refuse to offer the driver insurance—just one more reason why representation from a Monmouth County reckless driving lawyer could be so critical in the face of such a charge.

Possible Defenses to Reckless Driving

To be charged with reckless driving, a police officer must affirm that a driver’s conduct behind the wheel was expressly dangerous. This is an assertion which a reckless driving lawyer in Monmouth County could work to contest in a variety of ways.

More specifically, the officer who cited the driver must relate facts that establish the driving in question was reckless. As such, basic facts such as the officer’s ability to observe the driving, the method by which they established speed or lane changes, and their ability to recall facts from an event that occurred several weeks or months prior, are all subject to further examination in court.

Alternatively, anyone charged with reckless driving may offer testimony to establish that their driving was not dangerous or otherwise illegal. For example, a sudden lane changes could have been made to avoid a pothole or swerve around an animal running out into traffic. If passengers were in the vehicle, they may also testify to explain the driving in question.

Get Professional Guidance from a Monmouth County Reckless Driving Attorney

A Monmouth County reckless driving lawyer could meet with you and advise you on specific defenses and tactics to contest your reckless driving charge. They could also gather facts and evidence that may help you reduce the charges against you.

A reduction of charges may eliminate any potential jail time, reduce potential fines, and reduce or eliminate points on your driver’s license. An initial consultation is a phone conversation away, so call today to get started on your case.