Somerset County Marijuana Possession Lawyer
When states began legalizing marijuana in larger numbers, specifically the recreational use of marijuana, the laws surrounding the use and sale of marijuana became much more complex. However, only medical marijuana is legal in New Jersey, and, even then, there are strict laws governing use and possession.
If you are facing marijuana possession charges for medical marijuana use or recreational use, speaking with a Somerset County marijuana possession lawyer can be an important first step in understanding those charges and developing a solid defense. A capable drug possession attorney could advocate for you.What Possession Charges Can Someone Face in Somerset County?
It is important to keep in mind that the state’s marijuana possession laws, found in New Jersey Statutes Annotated 2C:35-10, cover the possession of actual marijuana as well as products that may be made from it. Possession laws can also be applied to plants and not just marijuana itself.
An individual can face possession charges in one of two categories:
- More than 50 grams of marijuana
- Possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana
There may be stricter penalties involved depending on the circumstances of the case, such as the potential sale or distribution of marijuana or related products as well as possession of the drug in or near a designated school zone.More than 50 Grams
Under the law, illegal possession of more than 50 grams of marijuana can result in charges of a crime in the fourth degree. That means a charge of possession of marijuana can result in penalties that include one and a half years of incarceration and a maximum fine of $25,000.50 Grams or Less
While the consequences are less serious for possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana as the crime has been decriminalized to a point, they can still be significant and an offense can have a lasting effect on an individual.Typically considered a disorderly person charge in New Jersey, such a charge can still result in up to six months of jail time as well as a maximum fine of $1,000.
There may also be community service requirements, court costs, and other conditions related to a conviction. A Somerset County marijuana possession lawyer can help individuals understand the possible outcome of the charges based on the individual circumstances of the case, including the possible impact of a prior conviction.How a Somerset County Marijuana Possession Attorney Can Help
There are many approaches to defending against marijuana possession charges in New Jersey. An experienced marijuana possession lawyer can explore all these options with you. They can work with you to uncover details about the circumstances of your case, including the behavior of law enforcement in relation to your charges. They can take all this information to help you seek the best outcome based on the facts of your case.
If you are facing New Jersey marijuana possession charges, contact a dedicated Somerset County marijuana possession lawyer who can work with you to explore the various options that might be available in building your defense and advocating for your rights.