How Much Marijuana Can Someone Legally Possess in Middlesex County

Different state laws often govern marijuana possession and use, making it difficult for individual marijuana users to discern what is legal and what is not. Additionally, marijuana laws may change relatively quickly and without warning. This could make it more challenging for those who are legally authorized to possess marijuana for medical purposes.

If a person uses medical marijuana, they may want to consider how much marijuana they could legally possess in Middlesex County. Complying with this regulation may help someone avoid legal issues such as fines, arrests, or even prosecution. Consulting a knowledgeable marijuana lawyer could further help address any concerns regarding legal marijuana possession in Middlesex County.

New Jersey Marijuana Possession Laws

Generally, New Jersey permits the legal possession of marijuana for medical purposes. Medical marijuana patients typically must have a qualifying medical condition and register with the state medical marijuana program.

Qualifying individuals may receive a registry identification card and could be eligible to receive a total of two ounces of medical marijuana every 30 days, according to N.J.R.S. §24:6I-10. Therefore, the amount of marijuana a person could legally possess in Middlesex County is generally a maximum of two ounces at any one time.

However, this amount of medical marijuana may only be purchased from state-authorized alternative treatment centers. These treatment centers may provide medical marijuana in different forms, which includes the following:         

  • Dried marijuana         
  • Oral lozenges          
  • Topical creams         
  • Edible forms of marijuana

However, each patient may only be registered at one alternative treatment center at any one time, as per N.J.R.S §24:6I-10. This restriction helps regulate the amount that each qualifying individual receives and maintains compliance with the two-ounce possession rule every 30 days.

Possession of Marijuana by Primary Caregivers

In certain situations, patients that qualify for medical marijuana require at-home medical care or other medical assistance outside a hospital or doctor’s office. Under N.J.R.S. §24:6I-3, these caregivers may assist the patient with their use of medical marijuana. As a result, they could legally possess marijuana in Middlesex County.

Caregivers must typically be over the age of 18 and have never been convicted of the possession or sale of any dangerous or controlled substance. Additionally, they must have registered with the state health department, in a similar manner to the patient, and have passed a criminal background check.

Once a caregiver is approved, they are able to obtain medical marijuana at alternative treatment centers for their patient, according to N.J.R.S. §24:6I-10. This may include presenting written instructions from the patient’s physician, as well as the patient’s registry identification card. Therefore, the amount of medical marijuana a caregiver may possess is typically the same as the amount their patient may legally possess.

Understanding How Much Marijuana Someone Can Legally Possess in Middlesex County

If you live in New Jersey and legally use marijuana, such as for medical purposes, you may be wondering how much marijuana you can possess in Middlesex County. In many situations, finding the answer to this and other questions on marijuana possession could help someone abide by medical marijuana regulations.

Although there are many regulations on marijuana possession and use, qualifying individuals may benefit from being aware of basic information, such as the amount of marijuana they can possess at any given time. Those who need more detailed information or someone who faces specific marijuana-related legal issues should consider contacting a New Jersey marijuana lawyer. A savvy attorney may be able to provide advice or legal representation when confronting a marijuana violation charge.