Middlesex County Marijuana Possession Lawyer
Many states across the nation are changing their laws regarding the possession and distribution of marijuana. Some states have merely decriminalized the substance, while others have made it completely legal to possess small amounts.
Marijuana possession can still result in serious consequences, especially if you are found in possession of large amounts. It is possible, however, for patients with certain qualifying conditions to obtain a medical marijuana license in Middlesex.
If you are charged with criminal possession of marijuana or have questions about the legality of marijuana possession in New Jersey, contact a Middlesex County marijuana possession lawyer for professional assistance and advice.Marijuana Possession vs. Distribution
New Jersey Revised Statutes §2C:35-10 makes the possession of less than fifty grams of marijuana a disorderly person offense in Middlesex County rather than a crime. While technically not a crime, a disorderly person conviction can still lead to up to six months of jail time and up to $1,000 in fines. Possession of more than fifty grams of marijuana is a crime in the fourth degree punishable by up to $25,000 in fines and up to eighteen months in prison.What is the Difference in Treatment?
The penalties for distribution of marijuana are typically more severe than those for mere possession. A conviction for the distribution of less than one ounce of marijuana is a fourth-degree crime and has a maximum sentence of 18 months imprisonment. Charges and penalties increase in severity with greater amounts distributed, all the way up to a potential 20-year prison sentence for distribution of more than 25 pounds of marijuana.
It should be noted that possession of a significant amount of marijuana may be interpreted by law enforcement—and subsequently charged—as “intent to distribute,” which can lead to much stiffer penalties than simple possession. Furthermore, penalties for the distribution or sale of any amount of marijuana within one thousand feet of school grounds can result in a prison sentence of up to five years.How is Medical Marijuana Legally Defined?
The "New Jersey Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act," found in N.J. Rev. Stat. §24-6I, allows patients with a medical marijuana card to legally possess up to two ounces of marijuana.
According to the New Jersey Department of Health, there are over ten thousand medical marijuana patients currently residing in the state. Middlesex County allows for licensed marijuana dispensaries to operate within its jurisdiction, but it does not allow for patients to cultivate their own marijuana plants.
According to the Compassionate Use Act, in order to obtain a medical marijuana license in Middlesex County, a patient must have a qualifying condition. Qualifying conditions include but are not limited to:
- Seizure and/or spasticity disorders
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
- Inflammatory bowel disease (IBD)
A Middlesex County marijuana possession lawyer could provide more details regarding the "New Jersey Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act" and its implications on Middlesex County drug law.Consult with a Middlesex Marijuana Possession Attorney
Marijuana laws are changing quickly and can be difficult to keep up with. In order to ensure you fully understand the current state of the law, it may be best to consult with a qualified marijuana possession attorney in Middlesex County.
If you are charged with criminal—or non-criminal—possession of marijuana, a Middlesex County marijuana possession lawyer may be able to help minimize the consequences of the charge and pursue a favorable outcome on your behalf.