Somerset County Laws on Marijuana Entrepreneurship
There are currently nine states where marijuana is legal for recreational purposes, and in these states, the industry is booming. In Colorado, for example, where recreational marijuana has been legalized, marijuana accounted for nearly $490 million in sales between the months of January and April in 2018.
Many people see it as inevitable that the marijuana industry will expand in Somerset County and throughout the state, and many have begun asking what Somerset County’s laws on marijuana entrepreneurship are. However, marijuana is still illegal to sell or possess for recreational use in New Jersey, so there are still several statutes and regulations that anyone wishing to eventually enter the industry as a vendor should be aware of. For more information about marijuana entrepreneurship laws in Somerset County, contact a well-trained marijuana medical lawyer.Current Somerset County Laws on Marijuana
Currently, there is no law that allows for a person to use marijuana recreationally. The penalties for possessing or selling marijuana are as follows under N.J.S.A. §2C:35-10
For possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana, a person can be charged with a disorderly person offense which can be punished by maximum incarceration of six months and a fine of $1,000. For possession of over 50 grams or the sale of less than one ounce of marijuana, a person can be charged with a fourth-degree crime, which can mean spending eighteen months in prison and facing a $25,000 fine.
The sale of over one ounce but less than five pounds of marijuana may be charged as a third-degree crime and punished by a prison sentence between three and five years and a $25,000 fine. Selling between five and 25 pounds is a second-degree crime punishable by between five and 10 years in prison and a $150,000 fine, and more than 25 pounds can lead to a first-degree criminal resulting in 10 to 20 years’ imprisonment and a $300,000 fine.
Since all these acts are illegal and may lead to significant criminal consequences, it is impossible for a person to operate a recreational marijuana business legally in Somerset County. However, if the criminal laws change at any point regarding Somerset County laws on marijuana entrepreneurship, so too would the marijuana industry.Medical Marijuana Dispensaries as a Business
Currently, New Jersey’s Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act permits the possession and sale of medical marijuana, which has created a business opportunity for industrious entrepreneurs. This law imposes stringent regulations on the sale and distribution of medical marijuana, but provided they follow these regulations, a person may establish a medical marijuana business in Somerset County.
However, this entails meeting extensive licensing requirements as well as meeting all state and county regulations. Currently, Somerset County is not accepting any applications for business owners to establish an Alternative Treatment Center, although it is possible that Somerset County’s laws on marijuana entrepreneurship will change drastically in the coming years.Somerset County Attorneys Are Available to Help
The Somerset County laws on marijuana entrepreneurship are changing, and this is an exciting time for entrepreneurs. If you have questions or are interested in learning about Somerset County’s laws on marijuana entrepreneurship, contact a dedicated local lawyer for more information.