New Jersey Armed Robbery Lawyer
Armed robbery is considered either a first or second-degree crime in the state of New Jersey, and those convicted can face up to 20 or more years, depending on the charges.
This is a very serious crime, and if you want to maximize your chances of having your charges reduced or dismissed, you will want to hire a distinguished armed robbery lawyer to help you defend your rights.
Contrary to popular belief, law enforcement agents and state officials can make mistakes and jeopardize the freedom of detained individuals. Continue reading to learn more about armed robbery and the impact it can have on the life of an individual.Typical Armed Offenses
In New Jersey, an individual can only be charged with armed robbery if they commit theft or attempt to commit theft while using one of three types of violence:
- The accused individual inflicts bodily harm or uses force while committing a theft
- The accused issues a threat of bodily harm to, or injures another person while committing a theft
- The accused threatens or commits a crime while committing a theft
State laws regarding armed robbery can be found in the N.J.S. 2C: 15-1, and under normal circumstances, the court will consider armed robbery a second-degree crime.
However, if an individual is threatened with a weapon, or if the accused engages in one or more of the three following actions, it will be considered a first-degree crime:
- Attempted to commit theft while armed
- Attempted to murder the individual
- Attempted to or succeeded in caused bodily harm to the individual
Individuals convicted of first-degree armed robbery will face higher bail amounts and longer sentences.
Armed robbery charges almost always involve deadly weapons, but there may be confusion as to what exactly is considered a “deadly weapon.” If the weapon is an object, such as a gun or knife, and can clearly cause bodily harm, it will more than likely be deemed deadly.
If the object is not intended to cause bodily harm, it can be considered deadly if the accused intended to use it to cause bodily harm.Conspiracy to Commit Armed Robbery
Individuals who are charged with conspiracy to commit armed robbery will also need the help of a New Jersey armed robbery lawyer.
To be charged with conspiracy, law enforcement officials must have reason to believe that the individual charged attempted to facilitate or promote an armed robbery.
A person who provides a weapon to a person who commits armed robbery could be charged with conspiracy under the law.Penalties for Armed Robbery
Individuals convicted of first or second-degree armed robbery will not be eligible for early release, and bail will usually be set at $150,000 or more.
If they are found guilty of first-degree armed robbery, they can face a sentence of 10 to 20 years, and most must serve a substantial portion of the sentence before they become eligible for parole. Second-degree armed robbery carries sentences between five and 10 years.
These are serious penalties, and without the aid of a New Jersey armed robbery lawyer, there is a strong possibility that an individual will be convicted.Consulting a Lawyer
If you or someone you care about has been charged with armed robbery, do not hesitate to contact a New Jersey armed robbery lawyer at our firm.
New Jersey Armed Robbery lawyers have extensive experience handling cases involving criminal charges, and they will strive to represent you to the best of our ability.