New Jersey Speeding Ticket Lawyer
If you get a speeding ticket in New Jersey, it can have far-reaching consequences that may result in the loss of your license and severe monetary fines, as well as impacts to your driving record and—consequently—your automobile insurance rates. Depending on the circumstances, there could even be court costs and prison time. A New Jersey speeding ticket lawyer could try to mitigate these issues and provide you with a robust defense. Contact a skilled traffic attorney right away to discuss your case.Understanding the License Point System
When a New Jersey driver receives a conviction for a moving violation, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) will add points to their permanent record. Five points will be added to a driver’s license for speeding in excess of 30 miles per hour over the legal limit.
If a person receives 12 points in a two-year span under any circumstances, their license can be suspended. For this reason, it may be important not to simply admit guilt to any and all traffic charges.
However, it is possible to deduct points from a driving record under certain circumstances. Completing the state’s driver improvement program will take off three points, and completing an approved defensive driving course can take off two points once every five years. Three points will be removed for each year a driver does not receive a violation.Effects on Insurance Rates
As a New Jersey speeding ticket lawyer knows, after an individual receives a speeding ticket, a driver’s automobile insurance rates will probably increase. Similar to deducting points off a driving record, though, an insurance company can decide to reduce insurance rates again if a driver takes an approved defensive driving course or remains violation-free for a specified period of time.Potential Speeding Ticket Fines
It may be critical to have a New Jersey speeding ticket lawyer help someone consider the monetary consequences as a result of a conviction for a speeding ticket. A ticket for traveling one to nine miles per hour over the speed limit carries a fine of $85, which increases with higher speeds up to $260 for speeding at 35 to 39 miles per hour over the limit. When driving in a construction zone, or a zone with a 65 mile-per-hour limit, the fine will be doubled.
Furthermore, court costs of $33 will be applied if a driver chooses to go to court instead of paying their ticket. Certain convictions require the payment of related surcharges every year for three years. These include $100 for driving without a valid license, $250 for driving with a suspended license, and $250 for driving without liability insurance. If someone receives six or more points on their record within three years, they could be charged $150 plus $25 for each point above six.Common Traffic Prison Sentences
A driver can be sent to jail for up to five days if they are convicted two times for driving with a suspended license, and a minimum of ten days after a third conviction. Missing an appointment for a court date over a contested ticket could result in a delinquent driver having a warrant issued for their arrest, as well as a suspension of their driving privileges.Help from a Speeding Ticket Attorney
Many people have received a speeding ticket at some point, but not everyone knows the various potential consequences of traffic violation convictions or their potential opportunities for contesting such a charge. A qualified New Jersey speeding ticket lawyer could analyze your case, inform you of your options, and guide you through the optimal course of action.