New Jersey Second-Degree Assault Lawyer
Second-degree assault is the most serious aggravated assault charge under state law. Those convicted of this indictable criminal offense face years in prison and high fines. In addition to these legal penalties, a criminal conviction can affect your life for years to come. Employers often conduct background checks on potential hires’ criminal records.Potential Consequences of Assault Charges
Conviction of a violent offense such as second-degree assault could limit job prospects even after the one convicted completes their sentence. Young adults convicted of such an offense could also lose out on educational opportunities and scholarships.
Because of the severe potential penalties and other consequences, it is important to contact a distinguished assault lawyer right away after an arrest. A lawyer can help protect their client's rights and reputation.Second Degree Aggravated Assault
All degrees of aggravated assault are indictable criminal offenses in New Jersey. Sometimes referred to as a felony, aggravated assault is one of the most serious violent criminal offenses under state law. Aggravated assault is broken down into the fourth, third, and second degrees.
Second-degree aggravated assault is the most serious of these charges. State law defines second-degree aggravated assault as causing significant or serious bodily injury to another. Even attempting, and not actually causing, such injury to another can result in a second-degree assault charge.Conviction on Second Degree Assault Charges
Because of the serious nature of second-degree aggravated assault, the law allows for harsh penalties upon conviction. Someone convicted of second-degree assault could face:
- Between five and 10 years in prison
- Fines up to $150,000
New Jersey mandatory minimum laws require that those convicted of certain violent offenses must serve at least 85 percent of their sentence. This law applies to convictions for second degree aggravated assault. Anyone convicted of this offense will be required to serve 85 percent of their five to 10-year prison sentence before they become eligible for parole.
Anyone facing a second-degree assault charge in New Jersey should immediately contact a criminal defense lawyer. An attorney can ensure that law enforcement and prosecutors do not violate the accused’s rights while defending them against such serious charges.Defending Assault Charges
Often, the circumstances leading to a second-degree assault charge are complex. These cases are rarely as simple as one person conducting an unprovoked attack against another.
In some cases, both parties were involved in a fight, but the person who causes more injury to the other may face charges that are more serious. In other cases, the person charged with assault was merely trying to defend themselves before police intervened.
In those situations, an attorney can help the accused make a claim of self-defense. An experienced New Jersey second-degree assault lawyer will examine all the facts of the case and protect their client’s best interests in and out of court.Hiring an Attorney
If you or a loved one are facing assault charges in New Jersey, it may be vital to contact a second-degree assault lawyer today. An experienced attorney will fight hard to help you avoid a conviction when possible.